The Healthy Buildings conferences attract participants from around the globe. At the same time they provide a unique opportunity to engage participants from the region where the conference actually takes place, and in turn, to make a deep and lasting impact on the region in terms of progress in creation of health indoor environment. In relation to HB2012, we believe our region to be Asia and the Pacific Rim, and therefore consider our top priority to make the conference relevant to this region, while keeping it of global importance and significance.

With this in mind, we have established the Asian Steering Committee (ASC), the role of which is to advise and direct preparations for the conference to ensure adequate focus on the broad issues in this field, which are of the top significance to Asia, as well as to help attract participation of experts and students from the Asian countries and support from the relevant Asian organisations.

The ASC is lead by:

Chair: Yang Xu, Chinese Society of Indoor Air Quality, China

Vice-Chair: Hai Guo, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China

Vice-Chair: Yoon Shin Kim, Hanyang University, Korea

Vice-Chair: Shin-ichi Tanabe, Waseda University, Japan

Members of the Committee include:

Zhaolin Gu, Xian Jiao Ton University, China

Neng Zhu, Tianjin University, China

Xinming Wang, Chinese Academy of Science, China

Lina Wang, Tongji University, China

Yinping Zhang, Tsinghua University, China

Xudong Yang, Tsinghua University, China

Jiang Yi, Tsinghua University, China

Yingxin Zhu, Tsinghua University, China

Yufeng Zhang, South China University of Technology, China

Xu Zhang, Tongji University, China

Liu Jiaping, Xi’AN Uni of Architecture & Technology, China

Jialiang Feng, China

Deng Qihong, Central South University, China

Baizhan Li, Chongqing University, China

S.C. Lee, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China

He Jianqing, China Architecture Design & Research Group, China

Shengji Luan, Peking University, China

Professor Guoqiang Zhang, Hunan University, China

Jianlei Niu, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China

Chak Chan, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong, China

Christopher Chao, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong, China

Yuguo Li, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China

Qingyan (Jacqueline) Fu, Shanghai Environmental Monitoring Center, China

Chun-Ho Liu, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China

Sanjeev Jain, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

A.B. Gupta, Malaviya National Institute of Technology, India

M.P. Maiya, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India

Jahangir Khan, India

Shuzo Murakami, Building Research Institute Japan, Japan

Takao Sawachi, Building Research Institute Japan, Japan

Shinsuke Kato, University of Tokyo, Japan

Hiroshi Yoshino, Tohoku University, Japan

Takashi Kurabuchi, Tokyo University of Science, Japan

Masaaki Ohba, Tokyo Polytechnic University, Japan

Yutaka Tochihara, Kyushu Institute of Design, Japan

Koichi Ikeda, Nihon Univerisity, Japan

Kwang-Woo Kim, Seoul National University, Korea

Kiyoung Lee, Seoul National University, Korea

Chungyoon Chun, Yonsei University, Korea

Jun Seok Park, Hanyang University, Korea

Yat Yau, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Mr Farhan Mehboob, ASHRAE President, Pakistan

Kwok Wai Tham, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Chandra Sekhar, National University of Singapore, Singapore

David Cheong, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Mr Hugh De Saram, ASHRAE President, Sri Lanka

Gary Haq, CAI-Asia, Sweden

Huey-Jen (Jenny) Su, National Cheng Kung Uni, Taiwan

Lung Chi Chen, New York University, USA